Come Together…Right Now…Over Work

Posted: April 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

Very nice debut blog here. Well done Stuart

The Joy of Work

In late 2011, I attended a workplace conference and one of the speakers was the author Alan Moore. His talk was the highlight of an otherwise unmemorable event. I subsequently read Moore’s book (the wonderful “No Straight Lines”) and in it he mentioned a chap named John Seddon who I recalled was occasionally wheeled out on various Radio 4 current affairs and news programmes and, to my ears, spoke a lot of sense. On a whim, I bought Seddon’s book “Systems Thinking in the Public Sector” and for me, it was nothing short of a revelation.

Now, let me be clear I have never met Seddon and I have no business or financial interests associated with him at all. I had not heard of Systems Thinking before but Seddon’s ideas grasped me and would not let go: conceptualising organisations as complex adaptive systems with a purpose; designing work against customers’ value demands; the elimination of waste; the ethos of getting…

View original post 716 more words

Leave a Reply

