Appreciation.

Posted: July 17, 2015 in Uncategorized

As I walked to work at an award winning organisation in fashion retail I walked past a postman delivering mail to an office.  Two sacks slung over his shoulder we smiled as we walked past each other.  “There’s the day’s work for some office-based team” I thought to myself.  And I was reminded of an important letter I put in the post yesterday for someone who needed a “wet” signature on a contract to speak at a conference in London later this year.  I was glad people like this man, do their job well enough that my letter will get there.  I’ll get to speak at a fantastic conference and earn some money in the process. I had a sudden rush of appreciation of people like postmen who do what they do day in, day out so that I can do what I do and live the way I live.

And I was reminded of my views on work – that it’d be great if we all loved (mostly) what we did for a living.  Even if you’re a street cleaner; a drain un-blocker; a pizza deliverer or even a retail giant wish fulfilment operative.  Some people think I’m a bit too naive to think this.  Maybe it is a pipedream and there will always be people who dislike even hate their jobs and nothing will make it better.

I tell you what DOES make any tedious, menial, or other derogatory descriptions given to the work no-one really wants to do but has to do feel a bit better.

APPRECIATION.

Screenshot 2015-07-17 at 09.53.43

So I appreciate the postal workers who will deliver my letter today.

I appreciate the people who will open and process that mail as part of their job running a speakers’ bureau.

I appreciate the train driver who got me here today and the tube staff who do their thing underground.

I appreciate the people who discover medicinal remedies that keep my parents alive.

I appreciate the people who delivered the coffee and food to the place I will eat and drink from today.

I appreciate the people working in the power industry so the electricity needed for me to work on stuff is always there.

I appreciate the people looking after those less fortunate than me.

I appreciate the people giving up their time to volunteer and help charities keep humanity going.

I appreciate those who read this and will appreciate others more.  I even appreciate those who have different views to mine.  Who may not like the way I do what I do or think how I think.  It’s a choice you’re making and that’s fine.  I appreciate that you don’t slag me off and make me feel bad about the world.  I appreciate silence as much as challenge.

Anyway, I don’t know how I personally can make the postman, train driver and food preparation people feel appreciated but I guess the more we share that we do, the more likely they are to feel that and have better feelings about the work they do.  Which other people wouldn’t want to do.

Appreciation.  It’s not even hard to do.  It’s being aware of the need to do it.  I will make sure that people who help me live know I appreciate them and their colleagues more whenever I get the chance.  And maybe they will all appreciate their work and those of others more.  Infectious appreciation I guess.

Who do you appreciate and how will they know?

I appreciate your time in reading this.

Comments
  1. foxhumanresources says:

    I appreciate you too – there you go! Some days you need to be taken out of the loop to see the wood from the trees and I appreciate the words that you and others share to inspire us to do this
    🙂

  2. TashHR says:

    Appreciation is a powerful thing. It can be silent, quiet or loud, it can be delivered in any way or any form and yet, it can change someone’s view or thoughts. I love this. I want to be more deliberate and thoughtful with my appreciation. I want to show it as often as possible and this post reminded me of that. For those who hate their job, it can be changed, you just need to want to.

    Thank you, Perry.

  3. Mel says:

    Great post, thank you.

    My version of appreciation is usually quite simple – thank you. I’m not one for loud, public, shouty-like appreciation [I’m learning to do this, sometimes it’s important]. We are also trying to teach our kids to thank the cafe staff for their fluffies & marshies [kids hot choc & marshmallows] and others we come across.

    I’m inspired by your blog, Perry. I’ve not yet started my own and hope to one day. Thanks for posting something simple, yet vitally important. Regardless of who we are, where we’ve come from, or where we are going – appreciation is powerful and we are responsible.

Leave a Reply

